It’s Nice to Meet You

After reading so many inspiring stories of triumph and success with nutrition and fitness, I thought I would take the plunge and write about my own journey. It’s been about three months now and I’ve lost close to twenty pounds. I’m a 5 foot 2 inch vegetarian and have been for over ten years, so I know how to eat healthy. I just haven’t been doing it. I have a MAJOR sweet tooth. Peanut butter and chocolate is my addiction. Give me a Reeses peanut butter cup and I will love you forever. This love affair had caused me to reach my heaviest weight ever: 157 pounds.

Rewind three months ago, and I was snacking away. Food has always been a source of comfort for me and brings me joy. In happy times, sad times, and everything in between, I would turn to food.  It’s something I’ve been doing since I was a kid, which is probably why I’ve been overweight most of my life. I knew nothing different. Until one day in February 2012. My fiance, Mark, got really sick. Turns out his kidneys and heart had failed. Luckily he survived, but it sent me into shock. I thought about how badly I was treating my own body. I eat crap all the time and don’t exercise like I should. I always told myself I would start eating better tomorrow. Next week I would work out. I’ve got too much going on this month, maybe I’ll just start next month. Excuses, excuses, excuses. That’s all it was. But I learned very quick that time is not always on my side. If I want to live a healthy life, I need to start NOW.

I’ve always wanted to run races, and I made it my goal to run my first 5k. I figured this would hold me accountable to stick with my exercise routine and healthy eating plan. Well, it wasn’t really a plan. I just decided that I would eat as naturally as I could and avoid as many processed and fatty foods as possible. But I wasn’t going to deprive myself. If I wanted some chocolate, I was going to have some. I just wasn’t going to overindulge. So far so good. I’ve lost almost twenty pounds.

I trained for two months and proudly ran my first 5k last weekend. I have one race under my belt now, and I can’t wait to run more. My confidence has definitely been lifted. My ultimate goal is to run a half marathon, which I know now that I can achieve. I want that finisher medal more than anything, and I’m going to get it!

I can’t wait to share my journey as it unfolds. I don’t know what the future is going to bring, but I know it’s going to be good. I hope you stick with me to see how it all plays out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

