The Hummus Experiment

I’m a hummus fanatic. It’s a favorite of mine for dipping veggies and chips. But it’s hard to find a good one. The best I’ve found is Trader Joe’s Garlic Hummus Dip. It’s a perfect blend of tangy lemon and garlic.

Trader Joe's Garlic Hummus

I decided on this lazy Sunday afternoon that I would attempt to make my own. How hard can it be right? I got all of the ingredients yesterday…my original plan was to make a white cannellini bean dip. I opted for the garbanzo beans instead when I couldn’t for the life of me spot the cannellini on the store shelves.

hummus ingredients

I realized after I opened the can that I had to remove all of the waxy film from each bean. Not fun.

garbanzo beans

I mixed the beans with a clove of garlic, juice from half a lemon, olive oil, and salt and pepper.

food processor

The verdict:

Yuck.

It was way too sour. Most of the recipes that I found called for at least a half lemon, which was obviously way too much. I didn’t have any more beans to offset the lemon, so I had to improvise. I added a tiny amount of sugar, which was just the wrong move. Now I had sweet hummus. Major yuck. I tried adding some cayenne pepper to give it some heat, but it didn’t help. I also added some more garlic. No improvement. My last ditch effort before tossing it was to try chopping some kalamata olives that I had in the fridge. Score! It saved the hummus. The saltiness from the olives definitely helped balance the sweetness and it was now edible.

Next time I know to add much less lemon (or leave it out all together). I also want to try tahini paste which I have seen in quite a few hummus recipes.

The end result:

hummus

I also made my own pita chips. Much easier and super tasty. Cut the pita into strips and dip in olive oil. I added a pinch of salt to a few and left the rest unsalted for Mark. Bake in the oven at 350 degrees for about five minutes until golden brown.

pita chips

I was going to pair the hummus with some homemade guacamole (I make an awesome guacamole:) but the avocados weren’t ripe yet so the hummus was the star of the plate. Orange bell peppers, heirloom tomatoes, pita chips, and organic blue corn tortilla chips were the perfect dippers.

hummus and dippers

Snack was my homemade trail mix: almonds, peanuts, dried cranberries, and mini chocolate chips. So good.

trail mix

Time to start planning dinner! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

