My New Motto: Just Finish

I wanted to title this post First 3.1 Since My First Race: Fail.

After taking it easy the past couple weeks, I decided enough was enough and I had to get back in gear. I was on such a high after my first 5k, and immediately registered for my next big race: Rockville Rotary Twilight Runfest 8k.

The 8k is July 21st, so I figured I had time to ease in to training for this next distance. I got a little lazy and now I’m six weeks out. So this morning I hopped on the treadmill and ran a 5k.

And it was hard. Very hard.

I finished my 5k race in 38:09.

This morning, this was my time:

Treadmill 5k

At first I was disappointed with myself. Deep down, I wanted my time to better.  Not worse.

But then I got to thinking. This is all new to you. You’re just starting out. You’ve been through the wringer this year and you made it through. Give yourself some credit. Look what you’ve accomplished so far. You registered, trained for, and completed an actual race. That’s a BIG accomplishment. Stop worrying about being perfect and just do it. You’ve been sitting around all these years, and now you’re doing something. You should be celebrating, not criticizing yourself.

I’m very hard on myself, so when things don’t go the way they’re supposed to (in my world), I beat myself up. I have to let that go and just focus on completion. I have to trust that good things will come my way if I just follow through.

So that’s my new motto. I’m going to finish what I start. That’s what I’m going to focus on from now on. There were quite a few times that I wanted to stop this morning when I hit the 1.5 mile mark…the 2 mile mark…the 2.5 mile mark…but I kept going. I didn’t give up (even though I had to stop and walk) and kept going. I kept pushing through. And THAT is what’s important.

2 thoughts on “My New Motto: Just Finish

Leave a Reply

