This Running Thing is Getting Easier

Saturday: 4 miles.

Today: 3 miles.

And it was easy.

Did I just say that?

Me??

Megan???

Really??????

Yep, really. I know, I can’t believe it either.

As the weeks progress, this running thing is getting easier and easier. I think back to when I had to run a mile in high school gym class and just about died. The overachiever that I was, I ran the entire thing without stopping because I was promised an A if I did. Awful right? Now, while I’m still that same overachiever, I realize that things need to naturally progress. I’m running at a comfortable pace for me, and working on increasing my mileage week by week. And I’m seeing results.

I’m not out of breath like I used to be, and I’m running more than I’m walking. After experimenting with different running/walking times, I found that 3 minutes of running and 1 minute of walking works great for me. I would love to be able to run the entire thing without walking, but realistically I know that is something that I will work up to over time. I have the rest of my life to improve.

My next race is almost one month out, and I’m feeling pretty good about it. The only thing that has me a little bit concerned is the hot and humid July weather that Maryland is known for. But luckily the race is in the evening (doesn’t start until 8:45 pm) so I won’t have to deal with the sun beating down on me. This past weekend was unseasonably cool (temps only in the 70s), so I’m crossing my fingers that we’ll have another freakishly cool weekend in a month.

Off to make myself a yummy dinner before a challenging next ten days. I’ll explain tomorrow…

Good night!

Leave a Reply

