The Sugar Free Challenge

I recently became a member of Healthy Living Blogs, where I met a huge community of bloggers that focus on health, nutrition, and fitness. One of those bloggers is Alex from Spoonful of Sugar Free. She eats a completely sugar free diet, and started the Sugar Free Challenge. A couple times a year, she challenges participants to go sugar free for a certain period of time. To kickoff the start of summer, the new challenge begins today and lasts for ten days.

When Alex announced the challenge a couple weeks ago, I signed up immediately. I figured it would be a great way to meet fellow bloggers and see if I could accomplish a goal of eliminating the sugar from my diet. I’ve mentioned that I have a major sweet tooth, so I wanted to see how I would feel after eliminating the sugar.

Certain foods like molasses, syrups, honey, those with artificial sweeteners and sugar alcohols, and refined sugars are strictly banned. Fruit, however, is allowed. Whew.

Today’s the first day and so far, so good. The real test will be when I get home from work. That’s when I usually raid the pantry for something sweet, so I have to find a way to focus my energy elsewhere.  I guess my cookie butter and chocolate trail mix clusters will have to go into hiding for a while.

There are 218 of us doing the challenge, so I’m looking forward to sharing recipes and seeing what my fellow challengers are eating. I plan on making my quinoa with roasted veggies and flax seed again, but need to come up with some new recipes. Any favorites you can recommend?

I’ll keep you posted on my progress. Wish me luck!

3 thoughts on “The Sugar Free Challenge

  1. Glad to hear it’s not ALL sugar. I couldn’t go without a glass of skim milk once in a while and even milk has 14g of sugar per serving. I’ll bet you do well on this challenge! Keep up the good work.

    • Thanks Laurie! Yeah I don’t think I could go without fruit, especially now that strawberries are in season! I missed having some chocolate today after work, but I resisted and luckily not craving it that much. Since I already cut out a lot of the junk a few months ago, it’s been pretty easy. We’ll see how I’m feeling a week from now:)

  2. Pingback: Keeping a balanced diet is not always easy… « Life in Harmony and Balance

Leave a Reply

