I’m Worth It Jar

I’ve been struggling to get back into my running routine after the storm. Losing power and having to relocate for a week made it pretty tough to eat properly and exercise. I know I’m making LOTS of excuses for myself right now…shame on me. While the circumstances were partly out of my control, I didn’t make my training a priority like I should have.

I’m getting nervous because my 8k is less than two weeks away, and I’ve been slacking on my training. I usually work out in the evening, but I’ve been super tired and lacking motivation…bad.

I **brilliantly** decided that I would try to switch my workout time to mornings before work.

That means waking up at 5am. Yeah right. If you know me, you know that I’m anything but a morning person. Granted, I’ve gotten a lot better (my days of sleeping in till 11am are ancient history), but I’m still Miss Grouch when that alarm clock screams in my ear.

As I’m driving to work, I’m pretty much cursing at myself for being so lazy and not following through. Why don’t I put myself first? If I had to get up for any other reason, I would. I wouldn’t be happy about it, but I would. So why can’t I make myself a priority?

I just read Lindsay’s beautiful post on The Lean Green Bean about eliminating negative thoughts. She talks about how she struggles with negative body image just like the rest of us. Negative thoughts are just wasted space. They serve no good purpose. I couldn’t agree more.

But sometimes it’s really hard to convince myself of that.

Yes, I ran a 5k. I followed through on that. I should be super proud. But I tend to focus on the negatives. Had a I trained a little bit harder, I could have run the whole thing instead of running/walking. If I had lost some more weight, maybe I would have felt more confident in my new running outfit.

It’s a constant mind game.

And it’s exhausting.

So I decided that when I’m having these moments of self doubt, I need a reminder that I’M WORTH IT.

So I created my I’m Worth It Jar.

I wrote feel good thoughts on heart shaped pieces of paper and put them in the jar. Anytime that I need to replace a negative thought with a positive one, I pull out a heart and read it aloud.

I am beautiful.

I can do this!

I finished a 5k race. I am strong!

Don’t focus on where you’ve been. Think about where you’re going.

I can accomplish all of my goals.

Believe in yourself!

heart note

I'm Worth It Jar

I'm Worth It Jar inside

Instead of going for the bag of chips or bashing myself in the mirror, I’m heading to my I’m Worth It Jar.

Time to own the positive self thoughts and kick the negative ones to the curb!

You might also like:

4 thoughts on “I’m Worth It Jar

  1. SUCH a great idea!!! Absolutely beautiful 🙂

    And I need one … stat! I’ve been doing some struggling too (it actually seems to be almost a theme among my favorite bloggers right now) with positive thoughts and body image and such. Thanks for sharing this with us 🙂

    • Thanks so much Liz! I’ve done a lot of struggling with body image throughout my life (weight has been a struggle since I was 12 years old), and often felt like I was alone. It’s nice to know that others share the same struggles and we can help each other! 🙂

Leave a Reply

