My First Date With Five Miles

Five miles, it’s so nice to meet you finally!

five miles

After what seemed like a long time not running, I finally got back on the treadmill today. I was starting to panic because my 8k is next Saturday. Feeling very unprepared.

I wasn’t sure how long I would run, but after a mile, I was ready to throw in the towel. But I kept on pushing.

Once I hit 1.5 miles, I told myself I would go to 2. Then it was 2.5. Then I figured hell, I might as well just do a 5k.

I did my usual run/walk intervals, and once I hit 3.1 miles, I told myself I could go a little bit further.

After it was all said and done, I stopped at 5. It was a number I NEVER thought I would see.

As well as this number:

five miles calories burned

656 calories burned! Woohoo!

It felt damn good.

Well, sort of.

My legs hurt BAD. I now understand what other runners talk about when they say their legs feel like dead weight. When I got off the treadmill, I felt like I might collapse because my legs felt like jelly.

Hmm, and that’s not even HALF of a half marathon that I want to do. Yikes.

I guess I’ll cross (or crawl across) that bridge when I get to it.

To celebrate, I made one of my new favorite smoothies.

smoothie ingredients

  • 1 banana
  • 1 spoonful Trader Joe’s Valencia PB with roasted flax seed
  • 1 scoop of chocolate protein powder
  • extra golden roasted flax seed
  • chocolate almond milk (I hate dairy milk, but this is delicious)

smoothie

Hit the spot.

Time to go enjoy the rest of the weekend (on the couch)!

Leave a Reply

