Week 1 Workout Menu

I’m almost two days out from my 8k and I’m sore. Very sore. It’s made me realize that I need to up my training. Not just running but overall body conditioning. I’ve been slacking the past few weeks and really need to get in gear.

I’m a planner by nature. It’s what I do. It’s hard for me to do spur of the moment (although I’m getting better with that). But when it comes to workouts, spur of the moment doesn’t work for me. I need a plan. So I decided to come up with a weekly workout menu.

I’m planning my workouts for the week, so I know what I’m doing each day. That way, it will be easier to avoid coming up with excuses. I’m also still trying to transition into morning workouts (hasn’t worked out quite yet), so I’m hoping this will be the push I need to get started.

7/22 Sunday: Rest

7/23 Monday: Walk 1 mile, Strong Arms Circuit Workout*

7/24 Tuesday:  Walk 1 mile, Jordin Sparks’ Hot Body Workout (Shape Magazine)

7/25 Wednesday: Rest/Stretching

7/26 Thursday:  Run/Walk 3 miles

7/27 Friday: Run/Walk 2 miles, Deck of Cards Workout (focus on abs)*

7/28 Saturday: Run/Walk 3 miles

*Strong Arms Circuit Workout:

-pushups (15)

-chair dips (15)

-punches (15 both arms)

-arm circles clockwise (15 rotations)

-arm circles counterclockwise (15 rotations)

-lateral raises (5 each arm with 10lb dumbells)

-bicep curls (15 each arm with 10lb dumbbells)

-tricep curls (15 with 10lb dumbbell)

-Repeat entire set once

Deck of Cards Workout (abs):

spades = crunches

clubs=reverse crunches

hearts=twists

diamonds= punches (with 5lb dumbbells each arm)

Shuffle deck and turn over each card. Do the following for the card drawn:

  • jacks, queens, kings: 10 reps each
  • 2-5: multiply by 2 for number of reps
  • 6-9: do this number of reps
  • aces: rest 10 seconds

Examples:

jack of clubs = 10 reverse crunches

4 of hearts = 8 twists

7 of diamonds = 7 punches (each arm)

You might also like:

One thought on “Week 1 Workout Menu

  1. Congratulations on finishing your 8K. I admire your ambition to get into a routine and push yourself. I can barely lift my cup of morning coffee. I would only suggest a few moments of meditation some time on your menu.

Leave a Reply

