Exhausted Squared

It’s been a while. My apologies.

I wasn’t trying to ignore you, but I’ve been a bit of a Debbie Downer this past week, and not the funny Rachel Dratch version either.

Rachel Dratch as Debbie Downer

Check out the SNL sketch – I laugh so hard I cry every time I watch it!

SNL Disney Debbie Downer Skit

I’ve just been so tired lately. More than tired. Exhausted. I just can’t seem to shake it.

Megan Sleeping

Not only have I been absent here, but I haven’t had any motivation to work out. I haven’t changed my eating habits drastically, so that’s a plus.

I wish I could just blame my consecutive late night viewing of the Olympics for the last two weeks. I’ve been staying up WAY too late. You would think that finding out the results five hours in advance (thank you Facebook and all national and local media outlets) would prompt me to just DVR the broadcast and watch it later, but nope. My usual 10pm bed time has turned into midnight or later. Not good. It’s sad that the Olympics are over tomorrow, but I think it’s in my best interest. I’m on the verge of turning into a walking zombie.

While the Olympics haven’t helped matters, I think there’s more to my tiredness. I think everything is finally catching up to me after six months of craziness. I almost lost my love, and I still have nightmares about it. I consider myself extremely lucky, but I’m also incredibly scared that something else will happen. I just need to have faith that everything will be okay.

Last year, I was diagnosed with borderline hypothyroidism. I don’t have to take any medication…it just has to be monitored. I tried taking a hormone supplement but it made me super jittery and caused my thyroid levels to plummet, making me hyperthyroid.

I also had severe vitamin D and B12 deficiencies. I was told that the deficiencies can cause extreme fatigue. I started taking supplements, which did help. I did what I was supposed to then, but this past year I haven’t exactly been taking care of myself. I started taking my supplements again this week, so I’m hoping in a month or two I will feel more energized. If not, it’s back to the doctor.

I’m also at a point where I feel like everyone around me is moving forward but I’m standing still. It’s an AWFUL feeling. I can blame this event or that circumstance, but I realize that only I can make the changes necessary to move forward. Mainly it’s with my career. Or lack there of. I need to figure things out fast. I’m not happy at all. The biggest factor is my attitude. I keep having self doubts and it isn’t helping my confidence in doing what I need to do to get where I want to go.

To sum it up, I just need to start taking care of me. The whole me.

And pray for a vacation at some point. Oh Outer Banks, how I miss you!

Outer Banks

Thanks for bearing with me:)

You might also like:

2 thoughts on “Exhausted Squared

  1. I feel for you! I have hypothyroidism and take 25mg of synthroid a day. I so know that feeling of just wanting to sleep all day long and do absolutely nothing. On top of synthroid I also take a bunch of supplements and it help tremendously! Another thing that will help you to feel better is to really figure out what you want to do with your career, that will help you get your drive and passion back. Trust in faith that you will soon find your PASSION!

    • Yeah, that feeling is the worst! I think it’s hard for some people to understand the severity of the exhaustion sometimes. But I’m glad you’re feeling better. Thanks so much for the positive thoughts!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

