Team Robin

I’ve been struggling lately. As I’ve said in the past, this year has been rough and it’s taken a toll on me. I’ve been so tired, both physically and mentally. As I have every morning for the past few months, I’ve hit the snooze button multiple times and lay in bed feeling exhausted. I have to force myself to get out of bed.

This morning, as I was following my usual routine, I turned on the TV and flipped on Good Morning America. If you’re a fan of the show, you know of Robin Roberts’ story. She’s currently battling MDS following treatment from breast cancer five years ago. This morning, she undergoes a life saving bone marrow transplant. As she lay in her hospital bed, she sent this inspirational message to her fans and supporters:

I was immediately struck by her strength. She lost her mom a couple weeks ago, which I can only imagine has added more stress during this difficult time. Yet she has the will power and determination to keep trucking along, fighting all the way.

What really hit me was what she so courageously said:

“You have to change the way you think in order to change the way you feel.”

Wow. You always hear “mind over matter,” but the way she put it really made me step back and think about how I let my body control my mind. My body is tired, so I let my determination slip by the wayside. I need to start reversing the process, and let my mind start steering my body. It’s the only way to win.

My battle is so small compared to hers, yet she has so much more strength. She is a classy lady and a true inspiration. Here’s to you, Robin. You’ve got this won.

You might also like:

2 thoughts on “Team Robin

  1. Dear Robin: Thinking of you and remembering you in my prayers tonight and for many nights and days to come. Thank you for sharing this journey with those of us in America that have grown to love you so much over the years! Thank you for sharing your faith in God with millions of people! Lifting you up in prayer tonight from Tyler, Texas!

  2. Dear Robin If I ever wanted to be someone else it would be you. I admire you so much.
    you are the strongest women I have ever known. I don’t even know you personally but I have watched GMA since the beginning and when you joined I fell in love with the the show so I feel like I do know you. But just to let you know my thoughts and prayers are with you and I am very sorry you have lost you mom but remember you now have an angel watching over you.I hope your doing good and I am sure you are. and can’t wait till your battle is won and all America can see you everyone

Leave a Reply

