147

I wasn’t sure if I was going to put it out there, but I figured why not. I need a way to keep myself accountable.

Starting weight: 147 lbs

I’m semi-obsessed with analytics, so I figured I needed a graphical representation of my starting weight and where I stand on the BMI chart.

My BMI Week 1

(source)

Result: Overweight

Well, duh. I knew that already. At only 5’2”, I figured as much. The scary part is that I’m a couple boxes away from the red numbers, or the obese category. Yikes.

I also measured my waist circumference, which is a major indicator of heart disease risk.  This result is shocking.  I’m considered “abdominal obese,” which is defined as a waist circumference over 35 inches. My measurement is 45 inches. I’ve always carried most of my weight in my waist and thighs, so I knew the number wasn’t going to be good. But ten inches over?!! That is bad. Really, really, really bad…especially since I have a family history of heart disease.

Time to get to work. Pronto.

You might also like:

2 thoughts on “147

  1. Great job on putting up this post!! It takes total guts to put that info out on the web. I did it myself when I started my journey as well and let me tell you, you won’t regret it! Everyone has to start somewhere and you are doing awesome! You will look back on this post and see just how far you have come on your journey! Good luck to you!!! 🙂

    • Thanks so much! I’m usually very shy when it comes to revealing things like my weight, but I figure that I need to put it out there to hold myself accountable. It will be great to look back and see the progress that I’ve made, like you said!

Leave a Reply

