The Grandest Bucket List Adventure of All!

When I started my blog, Lesley Carter was one of my very first readers. I didn’t know her. She didn’t know me. She “liked” many of my posts, which made me giddy knowing that someone was actually reading what I had to say. It meant a lot!

When I checked out her blog, I was in awe. She is the creator of Bucket List Publications, where she documents her travels and fulfillment of the items on her bucket list. She’s traveled to 34 countries and doesn’t plan on stopping there! She’s been skydiving, base jumping, dog sledding, and biplane flying, to name a few. She also encourages and inspires her readers to create their own bucket lists. She wants you to get out there and create new experiences. Pretty awesome in my book!

5-27-2012 5-50-45 PM        IMG_9634        20110219_LasVegas_0877

Now, she has the chance to go on an amazing adventure! She is competing in My Destination’s Biggest Baddest Bucket List, where the winner gets to choose and visit destinations across six continents over six months…and gets $50,000! In order to win, she needs our votes!

I don’t know Lesley personally (other than the interaction I have with her on my blog). But I do know that she has so much passion for what she does. Not only does she travel and go on thrilling adventures, but she gets to know the people. She immerses herself in the culture. She takes in the experience fully and learns from it. I love that. She inspires me to overcome my fears and accomplish the goals that I’ve set for myself.

I want to help her fulfill more items on her bucket list and send her on this amazing adventure. In order to become a finalist, she needs to be one of the top five voted entries in the next seven days. Let’s get her there!

She created a fantastic video about her trip to Fiji and what she learned from her experience. Check it out and please vote, vote, vote!

I had the opportunity to ask Lesley about her travels and her personal bucket list. Here’s what she had to say:

You’ve entered the Biggest Baddest Bucket List contest – a chance to travel the world for six months and win $50,000! If you win, what destinations do you plan on choosing? I know you have a special place in your heart for Fiji. Do you plan on traveling there again during your BBB tour?

While nothing is set in stone yet, these are some of the countries I had in mind so far:

South Africa
Kenya
China
India
Malaysia
Thailand
Australia
New Zealand
Austria
Iceland
Russia
Turkey
Brazil
Ecuador

These choices are based on places I’ve yet to visit, but I’m certain there will be lots more to add when the time gets closer. Fiji is my favorite county, but I just returned from there in December so I don’t think I’d add it to the list for the MyBBB tour.

On your Biggest Baddest Bucket List entry page, you say that your most essential travel phrase is “Are you local?” What’s the best advice or tip a local has given you?


Locals always know the hidden gems and true cultural experiences. I try to experience each new country as if I’m a local. I spend a few days immersing myself in the culture and environment. That’s the only way to truly get an understanding of a new country. The best way to do that… find a local and hang out with them if you have the opportunity. I’d say that I received more experience based knowledge than a verbal tip from locals.

Many people struggle with staying fit while on vacation or traveling. If you win the Biggest Baddest Bucket List contest, you’ll be traveling for six months. Are there any activities that you plan on doing to stay fit while on your adventure of a lifetime?

I’m a hyperactive tourist. I like to take in every possible opportunity and activity so traveling usually leads to a healthy, more active lifestyle for me. It’s difficult to get out of shape when you’re hiking waterfalls, exploring new territories, and rafting down rapids.

You’ve had the courage to cross off a lot of extreme activities on your bucket list, like sky diving, base jumping, paragliding, bungee jumping, and flying a jet pack (wow!) Of all the extreme activities you’ve done, which is a “must do again” activity?  Is there one activity that you’re glad you tried, but don’t ever want to do again?

I love any activity that involves flying, or falling, through the sky. Piloting a helicopter was one of my favorite experiences and it’s definitely on the list of “must do again” activities. I don’t think it tops skydiving, though. I’d go right now if I had the chance.

There is no activity that I’ve done that I don’t ever want to try again. Each item on my list has been a learning experience. I’m always up for anything.

Now that you’re a mom, do you plan on helping Athena create her own bucket list? What’s one activity that you recommend everyone add to their own bucket list?

I can only hope that she’ll share in my adventurous spirit but I will support and encourage all of her dreams and goals regardless. If she wants to have her own list, I’ll help her make it but let her create her own items.

One activity that should be on everyone’s list is volunteer. There are countless ways to give back; adding it to your list will make it a reality.

What do you say to people who want to create a bucket list, but don’t think they have the courage or resources to accomplish their dreams?

I am no different than anyone else. I didn’t start out rich or famous or with unlimited resources. I just decided what was important in my life and found ways to make it happen. It’s possible for everyone. It’s all a matter of priorities. Find out what you want from life and focus on that.

You might also like:

7 thoughts on “The Grandest Bucket List Adventure of All!

Leave a Reply

