Dairy Free Spinach Pesto

It’s been a really long time since I posted a recipe, so I figured now is a great time to share my latest obsession: pesto!

In the past, I’ve turned my nose up to pesto. I think I was always turned off by the fact that most are made with Parmesan cheese. Before I go any further, let me tell you a little bit about my love-hate relationship with cheese.

I’m extremely picky when it comes to cheese. It can’t be too soft (exception: cream cheese). It can’t be cold (exception: very sharp cheddar cheese). The only way that I really can stand it is on pizza and mac & cheese. Other than that, the gag reflex is off the charts.

So, I decided I would experiment a bit and make my own pesto, minus the cheese. I loved the idea of pairing the basil and pine nuts, but I wanted to add something extra to it. I wanted it to be more special than just your standard pesto recipe.

I rummaged through my fridge and saw a bag of spinach that I had bought for making another dish. The light bulb went off! Hey, if I’m already adding one leafy green (aka basil), could another hurt? I figured not and decided to throw it in the mix.

spinach

Oh. My. Goodness. Perfection!

If you love spinach, add this recipe to your rotation ASAP! If you don’t love spinach, that’s okay because it blends really nicely with the basil. You really can’t tell that it’s there. Hmm, I’m thinking this recipe could be a great way to trick the little ones into eating their veggies, right?

Dairy Free Spinach Pesto

Ingredients

  • pine nuts
  • basil
  • spinach
  • olive oil
  • garlic pepper
  • garlic powder
  • salt

*I’m leaving it up to you how much of each ingredient you want to add, depending on how much you want to make and the desired thickness.

Directions

  1. Place all ingredients in a food processor or blender.
  2. Blend until desired thickness is achieved.

spinach pesto

*Excuse the less than ideal iPhone photos. My DSLR memory card is currently filled with photos of my brand new niece, aka the cutest baby I’ve ever seen.

That’s all there is to it. So simple!

What I really love is that pesto is really versatile. You can mix it with whole wheat pasta, use it as a dip for veggies, spoon over a baked potato, or use as a spread on sandwiches. Super healthy and super delicious!

You might also like:

2 thoughts on “Dairy Free Spinach Pesto

Leave a Reply

