Sidelined

I’ve been sidelined the past few weeks. Ever since the Kidney Walk, I’ve noticed a slight pain in my right big toe that started out small and progressively got worse. I wore the wrong shoes for the walk and ended up paying the price. I had that little voice in my head saying, “comfort over fashion, Megan!!!” Did I listen? Nope.

A few days later, I was bending down to reach for something in the photography studio (more to come on this soon!) and felt the tendon(?) pull. The next morning, my foot was throbbing and I couldn’t put any weight on it without wincing in pain. After searching WebMD I self-diagnosed myself with a minor sprain and cared for my foot the best I could. I wanted to avoid the doctor if I could, but obviously would have gone if it had gotten worse. Luckily, it’s starting to feel much better.

I’ve been thinking about doing another race because I need to get in shape. I’ve been slacking big time but just haven’t had the energy to start training again. It’s so much harder when you feel like you’re starting from square one after putting so much time into it previously. I’m an all or nothing girl, but I’m trying to break that habit and realize that persistence is key. So I need to get back on the saddle and start training again. I think my foot injury has been motivation. It’s that old saying that you never fully appreciate something until it’s gone. Well, my foot has been out of commission for a while, and now that it’s feeling better I realize that I need to be grateful that I have a healthy foot to use. So it’s time to seek out a new local race that will force me to push myself. I still want that half marathon medal! Time to take the baby steps to get there.

You might also like:

Leave a Reply

