Happy First Birthday

Wow, I can’t believe that a year ago today I published my first post! Where did the time go?!

I’ve learned a lot this past year, both about blogging and about myself.

I’ve learned that I’m capable of running. I completed my first 5k and my first 8k, distances that I never imagined myself running before.

I’ve learned that I still have goals that I want to accomplish, particularly a half marathon. I set out on this journey with that being the end goal, and I was hoping that I would have tackled it by now. While that didn’t happen, it’s not a reason to give up. It’s just a reason to keep pushing forward.

I’ve learned that it’s crucial to go outside of my comfort zone. I’m still working on this, but I’m realizing more and more that it’s really important. I don’t want to put myself in a bubble and stay there my entire life. Life happens once and I need to take full advantage of what it has to offer. It’s been challenging at times to publish some of the posts that I have, but I realize that I have something important to say and I should put myself out there. I often fear rejection, but I’ve been amazed at how much support I’ve received thus far.

I’ve learned that generosity is abundant in the blogging world. I met my fundraising goal for the 2013 Northern Virginia Kidney Walk thanks to bloggers that made donations to my team. I’m still amazed at their generosity, and I hope that I can give back this next year.

I’ve learned that I absolutely love to write. It’s a form of therapy for me. I can be creative and express my thoughts and emotions. It’s been really great to document my journey. I realize that writing is a part of me. It’s something I need to have in my life on a daily basis. I’m trying to figure out a way to make that happen professionally. I’m hoping that my time and effort that I put in to blogging will be a stepping stone to help me get there.

I’ve learned that I have so much more to accomplish. I have some great projects in the works that have been thoughts up until now, but I now know that I want them to become reality. I can’t wait to share them with you.

I’ve learned that my dreams are attainable. I just need to continue chasing them. I can’t wait to reflect on what I’ve learned and achieved this time next year.

post workout bliss

You might also like:

Leave a Reply

