Striving For Excellence: The DelightFULL Dash

I’ve been in a bit of a rut lately. Make that a huge rut. I haven’t had the energy to do much of anything but go to work and sleep. My absence here is one example of this. I haven’t been feeling good, plain and simple. Knowing full well (but still trying to embrace the fact) that my mindset dictates my physical being, I realize that my ho-hum attitude has been making me feel like crap lately.

Flipping through the channels while laying in bed last Sunday morning, I stumbled upon Joel Osteen’s Sunday morning sermon. Before I go any further, let me preface this story by saying that I’m not a church going girl in the least. Never have been, and probably never will be; BUT I do believe in God. The theme of Osteen’s sermon was “striving for excellence.” He explained that no matter what you try to do in life, whether it is landing your dream job or running a simple errand, you should strive to do it with excellence. Do the best job that you can with whatever you are doing, and the reward will follow.

It really made me think about my attitude and how I tend to settle. Things get too hard (or seem that way in my head) and I give up or make excuses so that I can give up. As I get older, I look back on my life and can identify more than a handful of times when I’ve settled on something out of fear. While circumstance can alter your path, it can’t stop you if you truly want something. I realize that going forward, things are going to stay mediocre if I don’t strive to make them excellent. I need to revamp my life.

So, my first attempt at making something excellent is with this blog of mine. If you are a regular reader, you probably already notice the design change. I plan on changing things up in the coming weeks. I’m finally forcing myself to believe that I’m an excellent writer and that I want to do this for the rest of my life. Writing brings me joy, soothes my mind, and lifts my spirit. I love to compose words into something worth sharing, and I want to do it professionally. In order to do that, I have to take the steps to make it reality.

I plan on writing about my dashing toward my dreams. While I’m still going to write about healthy eating and running, I realize that I want to experience more than that. While it may have not occurred to me the moment I chose my blog name, I realize that it’s perfect for what I’m trying to achieve. Dashing toward my dreams —> FULL of confidence: The DelightFULL Dash.

This is just a start of things to come. I’ve said it before, but this time I mean it. I’m ready to revamp my life. Here I go.

Leave a Reply

