30 Day Squat/Plank Challenge

I’ve taken some time lately to really think about my fitness goals. What is it that I really want to accomplish? I’ve said that I want to lose weight and run X race that is X distance, but there’s more to it than that. I want to feel strong. I want to BE strong.

Stress has had a major effect on my attitude and behaviors. A lot of crazy things have happened in the past few years, and I let it get the best of me. I’m reminded of that when I look in the mirror and am horrified by the gray hair and dark circles under my eyes. Coming home from work and heading straight to the couch night after night hasn’t helped to improve my mood either. My exhaustion level has been killer. I realized that I needed to start making changes, otherwise I was going to continue to feel miserable.

My first step was to get my attitude in check. I’m only able to control so much that happens to me. I should worry about the things that I can control, and not obsess over the things that I can’t. Plain and simple. This new attitude of mine is still a new acquaitance, but day by day, it’s becoming stronger.

My second step was to get my thyroid issues under control. I put it on the back burner to deal with later, which I don’t recommend to anyone (about any health issue). But the exhaustion just got to be too much. While I had to make a case for it, my doctor agreed to treat me for hypothyroidism. I was told that I have subclinical hypothyroidism, but with a TSH level of 5.9, my research has convinced me that treatment was in order. Apparently doctors highly disagree what is considered “normal.” After six weeks of treatment, my level is now in the normal range. I’m also being treated for an extremely low vitamin D level. If you are in the same boat, my advice is to find a doctor who will listen to you.

My third step was get back into a fitness routine. The timing was on point about two weeks ago when I found out that a friend on Facebook was organizing a 30 day squat/plank challenge group. I decided to try it and it’s been a great motivator. Each day, I have to do a certain number of squats and hold a plank for a certain amount of time.

Squat Plank Challenge

We’re already on Day 17 and I’ve accomplished things I never thought I could. I never dreamed that I could hold a 2 minute plank. While it’s tough, I’ve been successful. It’s daunting knowing that on Day 30 I will have to hold a 5 minute plank (yikes!), but I’m learning attitude is everything. If I believe that I can do it, I will be able to do it. The other great thing is that I feel accountable. I have to post each day that I completed the exercises, which limits my excuses because I see that everyone else in the group also is working toward the same goal of getting these exercises done!

A week ago, I started Couch-to-5k again. I want to complete that half marathon that I’ve been talking about for over a year now. It’s time to stop making excuses and just do it. So I am. I’ve been looking at races next year and sticking with this training plan. This is something I have control over. No one else is going to get me there but me. I have to do it for myself.

You will also love:

Leave a Reply

