My Half Marathon Training Plan

Exactly 116 days from today, I will be a half marathon finisher. Confidence is key, right? I must admit that I’m a bit nervous, actually very  nervous about not feeling prepared. I realized that I need to get in gear and focus on dedicating a good chunk of time to training.

I’ve been doing some light running, as well as a few fitness challenge groups on Facebook. This has been a good way to ease my body into working some of the muscles I haven’t touched in a while. One of my biggest accomplishments was holding a plank for over a minute. This is coming from a girl with NO upper body strength at all.

On Monday, I started a new 30 day challenge group. We are focusing on push ups (upper body strength builder, check) and lunges. I’ve had problems with knee pain in the past, so I’m being extra cautious to make sure I’m using proper form.

We’re still in the easy phase (Day 3), but I know that in a week or two it’s going to start getting tough.

30 day pushups lunges

One of my main goals with this challenge is to be able to do a regular pushup. I still have to use my knees, but I’m hoping as the days progress it will get easier. Fingers crossed!

I’ve also been scouring Pinterest to find additional workouts. Here are a few of my favorite finds:

Hunger Games Tribute Workout via Neila Rey

I’m still waiting to see Catching Fire, but I loved the first movie. Definitely going to add this to my training plan.

ba24becbdede498ba02f9253270e7f26

Commercial Break Workout via Kiwi Fit Blog

This will come in very handy when the Olympics start. I will be glued to the TV!

CommercialBreak

The Complete Walking Dead Workout via Just 2 Birds

I’ve been on pins and needles waiting for the Season 4 mid-season premiere to get here. The month long wait is going to be torturous! I plan on using this workout plan to distract myself from hiding under the covers. Judging from the preview alone, things are about to get real tough for the prison survivors.

774d2cadd54cf8ada3ef44015883c896

The strength training will come in handy as I dive into my half marathon training schedule. After looking at multiple training plans that are out there, I decided that the Hal Higdon Half Marathon Novice 1 training plan will meet my needs best.

half training plan

One of his main selling points for me is that the plan emphasizes flexibility. The schedule is not rigid, so if I need to shift workouts to different days, it’s fine. My goal with this race is to finish. One day I may be concerned with time, but this time around I just want to make it across the finish line in the allotted 3 hours and 30 minutes.

I’ve been looking around to find a good 8k or 10k that will allow me to test out the waters a few weeks before the big race. The last time I ran an 8k was the Rockville Twilight 8k last year, so I’m a bit rusty. There is a local 10k that I’ve been eyeing the past couple years as a must-do race. This year, the race falls exactly a week before the half. Based on the training plan, I should be fitting in 10 miles the week before the big day, so I’m guessing this is okay? I heard that you should really taper your distance the week or two beforehand, so I might need to do some more research before committing.

Since we’re in the middle of the ‘polar vortex,’ I’m going to start out my workouts on the treadmill and fit in outdoor runs when the temperature is above freezing. We’re set for a fifty degree day this weekend, so I may venture out then. I don’t know about you, but my body is having a hard time shifting from single digit temps to springtime temps in a two day time span.

So, that’s the plan. If you have any words of wisdom or advice, I’d love to hear it! Anything to ease my nerves!

You will also love:

5 thoughts on “My Half Marathon Training Plan

  1. OMFG! Thanks for the Hunger Games and Walking Dead workouts. Love them and pinned them, as well. I’m so doing them and can’t wait until the premiere. UGH!

    I am using Hal’s guide for my first marathon and I used it for my first half (only done one). I liked it and love the flexibility. I just ran my half to finish and same for my full. Just keep at it and don’t forget that it’s okay if you don’t hit all of the mileage that week or you split it up in the day. GOOD LUCK!

    • I was so happy to find those workouts too! I need something with a theme, otherwise it gets boring! I’m still devastated about what happened at the prison on the Walking Dead, although I knew something like that was coming. Have you ever done a zombie run?

      Congrats on finishing your first half and training for a full! I dream of running a full marathon one day. Thanks so much for the encouragement!

  2. I knew it was coming with TWD, because I read the graphic novels. I just didn’t know how they were going to do it. It’s crazy. I hope Judith is still alive. I have not done the zombie run. I signed up to be a zombie in 2012’s run, but I just couldn’t get to Austin (2.5 hours away). I still want to do one really bad.

    Your welcome and eventually you will get there with the full if that’s the dream path you want to go down.

Leave a Reply

