Garlic Roasted Autumn Squash and Red Onion

We have embarked on my absolute favorite time of year! I know fall doesn’t officially start until Saturday, but boy does it feel like it’s here.

Once the temperature reaches the 65-75 degree range, my whole mood changes. I’m a HAPPY girl. Call me weird, but the thought of pulling out my sweaters and boots excites me so much. October and November are my favorite months of the year. Autumn is awesome!

I thought I’d start celebrating by cooking in the kitchen. I can’t wait to start creating fall themed recipes. Apples, pumpkins, soup, and hot sandwiches are absolute staples this time of year. Anything roasted screams autumn!

Last weekend my mom and I made a smorgasbord of menu items, one of which was roasted zucchini. It was amazing. I decided to create this dish again, this time adding yellow squash and red onion to the mix.

This may sound like your ordinary roasted veggies dish. I get that. But the trick to making it extraordinary is the spices. It’s all about the spices.

squash ingredients

Here’s what’s in the mix:

  • Mrs. Dash Original Blend
  • Mrs. Dash Garlic & Herb Blend
  • garlic powder
  • dill
  • fresh rosemary
  • kosher salt

And the KEY ingredient?

Garlic olive oil.

During my last visit to Trader Joe’s, I spotted this:

garlic olive oil

It has changed my world.

I can’t even begin to describe to you how good this stuff is. If you shop at Trader Joe’s, buy this immediately. And before you ask, no, I’m not being paid to say this. This is my opinion, people. Trust me on this one!

I drizzled this on the squash and onion, then added the spices. I roasted it in the oven.

Oh. My. Goodness. Amazing.

squash and onion

Paired with the cocoa chili from yesterday, this makes a great lunch. Drool inducing, huh?

chili and squash

How do you celebrate the start of autumn?

You might also like:

One thought on “Garlic Roasted Autumn Squash and Red Onion

Leave a Reply

