Another Night Race

I’ve noticed that when I don’t have a race to train for, I get lazy. Really lazy. Time to change that.

I had originally hoped to train for the Baltimore Half this year, but that didn’t quite work out. I decided that I needed to give myself adequate time to properly train for a half marathon. It’s going to be a moment of triumph, so I want to do it right. I’m looking at some races next year, so we’ll see.

In the meantime, I needed a bit of a kick in the pants to get motivated again. I loved running my first 5k so much, and I figured this would be a good distance to ease back into running. So I registered for the 2012 Run Under the Lights 5k. It’s another night race, which I’m super fond of after running the Rockville Twilight 8k back in July.

What really attracted me to this race is that I get to run under the lights – holiday lights!!! Every year, Seneca Creek State Park is decked out with holiday light displays, known as Winter Lights. Guests can drive through the park and ooh and aww at all the illuminated and animated holiday displays, such as snowflakes, gift boxes, teddy bears, and santa and his reindeer, to name a few.

Run Under the Lights

(source)

I’ve witnessed this holiday wonder many times as a child, but now I get to relive those memories as an adult – and I get to see the lights on foot this time, sans car. I can’t wait! The race is next month, so I have a little over four weeks to get back in the groove. Just the push I need!

You might also like:

Leave a Reply

