Listening to My Alarm Clock for Once

I did something this morning that I don’t think I’ve ever done before.

early morning wake up time

I woke up before sunrise to go work out. I’m not a morning person so this was a huge step for me. Realizing that time is ticking toward my upcoming races, I pushed myself to get up and run. With the summer heat approaching and feeling exhausted after work, I’ve decided that early morning workouts are the best option for me. Now I just have to figure out a way to push through the extreme grogginess that I feel when the alarm goes off.

I got to the park and there was only one other car in the parking lot. I pretty much had the park to myself. That right there was worth getting up for. Once I started walking the path for my warm-up lap, I felt at peace. The feeling energized me immediately.

park beauty

The only snafu I encountered was a run in with a new family of geese. I’m not normally scared of geese, but these mamas were mean (rightfully so), and they hissed and chased me down the path. I realized another family was farther down the path, so I tried to take a shortcut. No dice. The path was blocked due to construction and I was trapped.

geese chicks

As I was trying to figure out an escape plan (jumping into the lake was a viable option at this point), a man walked by and forced them to move on to the grass. I guess he looked a lot more intimidating than I did. I quickly followed behind him to get by the flock. Whew!

Once I finished my warm-up lap, I decided I was going to run the next lap. Each lap is roughly a mile, so I wanted to see how far I could push myself.

I made it almost the entire lap without walking, but man was it tough. I had to stop and sit down on the closest bench for close to a minute to catch my breath. I’m so out of shape it’s not even funny. I could feel every pound of weight that I’ve gained over the winter screaming at me. My legs cramped up and my lungs hurt. It was definitely a wake up call that I have some work to do.

On the bright side, I didn’t have as much pain in my right foot as I thought I would. When I initially started walking, it started to hurt pretty bad and I thought “Oh, boy, this is not going to be good. Can I really run these races in a month and half without hurting myself?” Well, as soon as I started to run, the pain disappeared. The endorphins kicking in? I guess the verdict will be in later today once I come down off this running high.

All in all, the experience this morning was tough, but I’m super impressed with myself for taking the initiative to get myself out of bed and out the door this morning. Now to make it a routine.

You might also like:

6 thoughts on “Listening to My Alarm Clock for Once

  1. I love morning workouts if I can get myself out of bed. I had a 5:30 class that I used to attend. The people were friendly and dedicated. I loved the energy it gave me and I found I wasn’t any more tired at the end of the day.

      • Yes, have your running gear ready next to the bed and stay disciplined for the first two weeks. As tough as it is to wake up to hot the road, make sure you get out there. After that, it gets a lot easier to wake up!

        Remember, a moment of weakness = a day of regret. You can do it!

Leave a Reply

