Countdown to My First Half Marathon: 9 Weeks to Go!

I can’t believe that this time in nine weeks, or 63 days from now, I will be a half marathon finisher! For some reason, 63 days sounds WAY closer than saying nine weeks. Hmm…okay, yeah I think I will stick with nine weeks. That doesn’t scare me nearly as much! Eeek!

To keep myself on track for the rest of my training, I’m going to give a weekly update of my workouts. I’ve pretty much decided that I’m going to implement a run/walk method the day of the race. I would love to run the entire thing, but I’m just not there yet. I’m also losing weight as I’m training, so I hope this will help me move quicker on race day. My number one goal for this race is to finish under the 3 hour 30 minute time limit, so that’s what I’m aiming for. I’m pretty confident that I can achieve this based on my training runs so far. I’m following the Hal Higdon Half Marathon Novice 1 Program with a little modification here and there.

Here’s the breakdown for last week:

Monday: Stretched

Tuesday: 3.5 mile run/walk

Wednesday: 1.5 mile speed workout – 30 second fast run/1 minute walk

Thursday: 3.5 mile run/walk

Friday: Stretched + Lifted weights + Pushups + Tricep Dips

Saturday: Rest

Sunday: 5 mile run/walk

I’m hoping to get outside in the coming weeks once all this darn snow melts. I’m definitely over the snow. Bring on springtime! Until then, my treadmill and I are becoming frenemies. Some days we get along great. Other days, well, let’s just say she kicks my butt and I may say things in retaliation that I later regret. One of the reasons is that my treadmill starts at a 1.5 incline, so I’ve been running these miles up a slight hill the entire time. This can definitely suck at times. But I also know that my half marathon course is flat for the most part, so I’m hoping the incline will work to my advantage on race day.

In addition to my workouts, I’m really focusing on my diet. I want to make sure I feel that best that I can on race day, so I’m making a conscious effort to analyze what I’m about to put in my body. I’m not doing anything extreme. I’m just making an important effort to eat as clean as I can. I’m trying to follow the 80-20 rule. I eat clean 80% of the time, and 20% of the time I can indulge a bit. I treated myself to two slices of pizza over the weekend, and didn’t feel guilty about it. I know that I ate really good during the week, so treating myself was okay. I’m learning to love this feeling.

Since I’ve been doing this, I’ve been craving healthy, natural food. In addition to my quinoa pecan fruit salad, I also made a delicious tofu veggie stir fry. What made this really great is that I marinated the tofu before I cooked it. Usually I just season it once I throw it in the pan, but Mark has taught me that spice rubs and marinades are a very good thing. His spiced chicken gets me salivating every time he cooks it…and I’m a vegetarian! That’s how good it smells! I knew that I wanted to try something similar with my tofu stir fry.

Spiced Citrus Tofu Veggie Stir Fry

Ingredients

  • Tofu
  • Mixed Vegetables
  • 1 tsp Garlic Pepper
  • 1 tsp Garlic Powder
  • 1 tsp Onion Powder
  • 1 tsp Spice Blend (I chose Trader Joe’s 21 Seasoning Salute)
  • 1 tsp Oregeno
  • 1 tsp Lemon Pepper
  • 1 Lemon
  • 1 Lime
  • 1 Orange
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp reduced sodium soy sauce

Once I pressed the tofu to drain the excess liquid, I cut it into small cubes and put it in a freezer bag. I mixed my spices in a separate bowl. I’m a big fan of garlic, so I was heavy handed with it. Use what you like. Experiment with different spices. If you like it spicy, try adding some red pepper or paprika.

I added the mixed spices along with the juice of one lemon, one lime, and half the orange to the tofu. I sealed the freezer bag and mixed everything together. Once everything was thoroughly mixed, I put the bag in the refrigerator for one hour (let it marinate longer for extra flavor).

Tofu marinade

Once the tofu had time to marinate, I added 1 Tbsp of olive oil to a pan and stir fried the tofu until golden brown. I stir fried the mixed vegetables the same way. Once everything was cooked, I combined the tofu and vegetables and added the reduced sodium soy sauce and the juice of the other orange half.

The citrus flavor in the tofu really shined, and the soy sauce added a bit of saltiness that it needed. Even reduced sodium soy sauce has a ton of salt in it, so it’s important to use it carefully and not go crazy. I added a little bit to the tofu and veggies and then took a taste to see if the flavor worked before I added more.

Paired with a baked potato with a small amount of sour cream and chives, the spiced citrus tofu veggie stir fry was a perfect late afternoon meal to enjoy in front of the TV after a long Sunday run.

Spiced Citrus Tofu Veggie Stir Fry

Did anyone else catch the classic Disney movie marathon on ABC Family last weekend? Jack and Gus Gus get me every time!

Cinderella Collage

You will also love:

4 thoughts on “Countdown to My First Half Marathon: 9 Weeks to Go!

  1. You will so rock it. I am subscribing to the run/walk. I was told that along time ago by a marathoner and then I saw a group do it at my first half. I ran 4 miles without stopping and then proceeded to walk when I was tired. After 10 miles, I walked more. But that group of people passed me up around mile 11 and I never saw them again. So, I’m doing the run five minutes/walk 1 minute for my full. I’m not trying to win marathons and I think this is the best for me.

    Thanks for the recipe. I never thought to marinade the tofu either.

    And yes, I did. I watched half of Little Mermaid and then the first half of Mulan (my favorite) until The Walking Dead came on the tv. It was so cool.

    • Thanks so much for the encouragement! I’m a bit terrified, but I know I can do this!

      The Walking Dead is getting intense! The preview for this week’s episode looks frightening. I can’t believe we only have four episodes left until the finale. I don’t think I can wait again until October!

Leave a Reply

