Stop and Smell the Roses

This made me smile this morning.

Roses

I wasn’t in a particularly great mood when I woke up this morning. I didn’t get enough sleep, I was cranky and mad at myself that I didn’t wake up early to work out, and I didn’t feel like dealing with the sticky, disgusting heat and humidity that we will get to experience again today.

Despite the record breaking temps, Mark surprised me at work and brought me this gorgeous bouquet. I told him to stay inside today to keep cool, but he didn’t listen. Sometimes I like it when he doesn’t listen to me. 🙂

It’s the little things like this that reminds me to stop, take a breath, and focus my energy on the happy things in life. It’s easy to focus on all of the negative things, but if you stop and think about it, there are often more things to be happy about than there are to be upset about or stress over.

Each time I look over at my flowers today, I’m reminded of his love and the smile he always manages to put on my face. I’m so grateful that he’s still here with me, and these flowers are a beautiful reminder. These are the things that I need to focus my energy on. There will always be crappy things in life to deal with. It is what it is. But I need to stop and smell the roses sometimes.  And today I did just that.

3 thoughts on “Stop and Smell the Roses

Leave a Reply

